“One door closes and the other one opens”

morenoBy: Ritamary M.

Jessica Vazquez was born on July 7th, 1979 and is currently 37 years of age. She grew up in Hialeah, FL and still resides there with her 13 year old daughter.

“It’s funny that I bumped into banking by coincidence, I wanted to go into the medical field…” says Vazquez.

Vazquez originally wanted to become a surgical technician or, scrub tech, before she went into banking. Why did she give up scalpels for managing money?

“Believe it or not, I used to word at a doctor’s office and I was always sick to my stomach,” states Vazquez, “I was always throwing up so obviously¬† that was not going to work for me. That would definitely make you change your mind.”

Vazquez currently works as a BSA AML Assistant BSA Officer. She drives about an hour and a half to get to work but that’s not what affects her the most.

“…Sometimes I can’t be around for my kid. I leave the house early, I don’t get to see her leave to school and I come home late so I miss somethings and spending time with her,” replies Vazquez.

She has been in this career for about 20 years and works about 10 hours a day.

“Last week I worked 59 hours,” said Vazquez.

She feels that by monitoring the transactions she protects the community and the people that live in the U.S. She had to take many college courses to do what she does and she confirmed that they were pretty difficult.

“They are difficult because you have to take tests but it doable. The passing grade was a 70 and I’m not a good test taker so it was hard,” Vazquez said.

But just passing the courses doesn’t mean you can go straight to work. Vazquez admits that there is a lot of competition.

“You have to make sure that you’re always on top of everything…” she says.

Vazquez has had some inspiration in her past years. She states that an old boss of hers helped her to be who she is now.

“She was hard on me and the harder she was on me the better I wanted to become so I can say she inspired me to do better.”

In the end, Vazquez has gone through a lot but she never gave up.

“Never give up. Never give up and keep on trying and if you fail try again. One door closes and the other one opens.”

Leave a Reply

