Book review: Angelfall

By Jahiris Jauregui

Summary:

It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister, Penryn, will do anything to get her back. Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel. Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl. Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where Penryn will risk everything to rescue her sister, and Raffe will put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

www.commonsensemedia.org rates Angelfall appropriate for 13 years of age and up.

Age: Classified as Young Adult (YA); may be strong content for 13 year olds and appropriate for 14 and up according to www.commonsensemedia.org; in my opinion, if you’re up to it, you can read it at age 12.

Genre: Science-Fiction

General review: out of 5 stars and highly recommended.

Extra Info: This is the first book in a trilogy (3 book series); the next book in the trilogy has been released and is called World After; the third book is still in motion to be published.

Page Amount: 283 pages

Part 1: No Spoiler Review

Angelfall is an amazing book. The author, Susan Ee does an amazing job of creating a really believable world in which angels take over the earth. The two main characters, Penryn and Raffe are one of the best characters that I’ve read and they are very realistic.

Warning…spoilers ahead!

 

 

 

 

 

Spoiler Filled Review: Read at your own risk of some spoilers

Going into this book I was skeptical on whether I was going to like it or not because of the idea that the entire point was for the main character to rescue her sister. I love reading about apocalypses and angels, so that was what drew me in initially, but I wasn’t annoyed by the sister rescue thing at all. I really liked the side characters, like Penryn’s mom and the other angels we encountered, especially Josiah.

I didn’t really like when they got caught by the people from the military type camp at first, and I thought that it was going to be the worst part of the entire book but it wasn’t. It actually ended up being really great.

Another thing I really liked and I wasn’t expecting was how funny the book was. It was hilarious considering the circumstances the characters were put in and it made the book that much better.

And I loved Raffe, he was amazing and lovely. I also really liked how he and Penryn talked to each other because it was really funny at times and how they worked really well together as a team to get out of situations.

Safe Zone: Some extra (spoiler free) thoughts and warnings  

Angelfall has some graphic scenes, by that I mean bloody, gory scenes, especially towards the end. Nothing major in my opinion, but if you’re squeamish you might want to avoid this book at all costs. It also has some horror induced scenes in the ending. I’m not scared easily at all and enjoy these types of scenes, but if you’re not able to tolerate scary scenes, avoid this book. Another thing, is that this book has a love story brewing, nothing happens though but you can totally tell it will in the future of the series.

For more information about this book, and if you’d like to know if you’re up for it, you can visit this link: https://www.commonsensemedia.org/book-reviews/angelfall-penryn-the-end-of-days-book-1 that will take you to common sense media and tell you all you need to know.

Other than that it’s really good and I loved it. This book is my favorite as of right now and I can’t wait to buy the second one. I can assure you that you will enjoy it and have a fun time reading it. I hope you decide to read this book and if you do please comment and let us know what you thought about it. Remember these are my personal opinions and what I thought of the book. You can buy this book in most bookstores such as Barnes and Nobles and Amazon.com.

Leave a Reply

